Meanderings and Ramblings Part 4

After a long night on Linda’s extremely pink, lumpy and uncomfortable bed, the next day started thankfully with a huge plate of chilaquiles at the one small restaurant in Catavina.  Chilaquiles are fried strips of tortillas that are simmered in salsa with cheese and sometimes eggs or beans.  Pure comfort food, they’re one of my very favorite dishes, and these were the best I’ve ever had.

After breakfast we began the trek to our final destination of Bahia de los Angeles on the Sea of Cortez.  We had only been driving for about 20 minutes when I noticed a strange knocking sound.  I thought it was coming from the tire, so we pulled over to look.  Everything looked alright.  Continuing to drive, I thought that perhaps it was coming from under the hood, so we pulled over again.  I don’t know much about the inner workings of cars, and don’t tell Mark, but neither does he.  We lifted the hood and looked inside, but unless there had been a huge piece of metal waving in the wind or a strange liquid gushing skyward, neither one of us would have been able to tell if  something was amiss.  We didn’t see anything out of the ordinary.  I shrugged my shoulders.  The car seemed to be driving fine and we were in the middle of the desert with no one around for miles, so there was only one thing to do: turn the music up as loud as possible to drown out the knocking and keep going.

The road leading to Bahia was new and smooth, and the drive went faster than expected.  I kept anxiously waiting for a glimpse of the sea around every turn, and suddenly it appeared.  Brilliantly, gloriously deep sapphire blue, the Sea of Cortez is shockingly beautiful. I cried, of course.

There were some good things about our little casita on the beach like free kayaks, wifi and a fantastic view.  There were also some not so good things like dirt, grime, trash, dry rot in the floor, no water for days, spotty electricity and bed bugs.  But we were staying for a week, so I bought a sponge and some soap, put blankets on the floor to cover the rot and made the best of things.  And every morning we sat on the balcony drinking coffee while a warm breeze rustled the palm leaves under a pink and gold sky.

To be continued….

3 responses to “Meanderings and Ramblings Part 4

  1. Lovely… this is fun to read indeed. Years ago I said I would hit Mexico for my 40th year (this one). Maybe I can fandangle it for next year…

Leave a Reply

