Can’t wait to see you, Sohum!

The Carnival Girl Car is packed and ready to head out to Benbow for the Mateel Summer Arts and Music Festival.

Booth supplies, camping gear, homemade marshmallows – even a bunch of sweet paper flowers (thanks Mama Xanax!)  Have I mentioned how much I love my funky little Element?  70 cubic feet, baby.

This is the first year I’ve been at the Summer Arts and Music Festival as a vendor, but man, I love this fair.  Four stages, 120 performers, arts and crafts, food, libations, a belly dance tent and so much more.  The Journal’s got the details.

I’ll have a lot of new pieces to share.  I found a Dictionary of American Slang from 1960 and made some pendants from some of the great words and phrases inside.

I also found some vintage aprons, shirts, doilies and trim, and turned them into pendants as well

These are made from some old fruit and vegetable labels from the 1940’s.  I love the bright colors and fun images.

I mainly made these because I’ve got a thing for hot, sticky summertime things.  Ferris wheels, tattooed ladies, cotton candy, hula girls and sassy swimsuits.

And of course, there will be all the old favorites: maps of our beautiful Humboldt, birds and owls, Mexican Loteria cards, weird images from vintage dictionaries, sheet music from the 1920’s and 30’s, and saucy French postcards.

The forecast is for sun in Sohum this weekend.  Hope to see you there.

Confidential to my Sohum friend whose email address I somehow deleted.  I’ve got the goods and would love to see you at the fair.

6 responses to “Can’t wait to see you, Sohum!

  1. Man, I wish I’d seen you at SA (yes, I’m WAY behind on my blogging). I was working my ass off and didn’t even have time to take a stroll and check out all the booths! Will you be at Reggae?

Leave a Reply

